Making Jammie Dodgers with Mommy!

Mother and Daughter Jammie Dodgers!

Mother and Daughter Jammie Dodgers!

One of my goals as a mother is to share the things that I enjoy doing with my daughter. I like to think that my daughter Luella, is lucky to have a mother like me because I am the type of person who enjoys trying new things and embracing those things that make you happy. It just so happens that I am a complete geek and tonight I got to incorporate two of my many favorite hobbies cooking and TV shows, with my daughter. Also, I wanted to share with you a step by step process of making my own version of my now new favorite treat from one of my all time favorite TV shows! Tonight we are making Jammie Dodgers from the very popular sci-fi show, Doctor Who! A show about a “Madman with a Box” travelling all throughout time and space constantly saving the world, from evil aliens and villains.

DoctorWhoBBC

Doctor Who on BBC America

This small cookie that all Whovians, well the most obsessed ones that is (me=guilty) love to eat, the small treat filled with sweet raspberry jam and goes perfect with your afternoon cuppa. Doctor Who fans are some of the best and dedicated fans of any modern television show and I like to think that I am one of those fans! So grab your sonic screwdriver and a few companions and let’s get to the kitchen!

MattSmith

Matt Smith as the 11th Doctor with a Jammie Dodger

Well here is where the problem lies, you can’t get them in America. Well of course you could buy them on the internet but I’m still working on being comfortable with buying clothes and books online. I think when the day comes that I’m buying food from the internet is the day that I have officially become a hermit but I digress. So instead of finding a reputable site to buy from, I went on the hunt to find the best recipe to make them myself!! Being a fan of food (who isn’t?) I was aware of a few British chefs that I looked towards to in my search for the perfect recipe and I found a trustworthy recipe in the British chef, Jamie Oliver. My logic, which wasn’t very complicated was that ‘British chef+British snack=British yumminess!” The original recipe is found on his website by following this link here for his version of “Jamie Dodgers”.  

After finding the perfect recipe I then had to convert the recipe from the Metric system to the US System of measurements. Here is a quick run-down of the recipe ingredients after I converted them:

  • 2 sticks with 2 tbs of butter (room temperature)
  • 1  1/4 cup of powdered sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 3  3/8 cups flour
  • 1/8 cup of white caster sugar (Note- for this I used granulated sugar and didn’t measure it out before. This is only for sprinkling anyways.)
  • one 10 oz jar of Raspberry jam (seedless)

ingredients!

After you have gathered all of your ingredients, it is now time to begin the baking process! Pre-heat your oven to 375 degrees and get your butter and powdered sugar into a bowl. You will begin by combining the butter and sugar into a mix until you get a nice fluffy and pale, peanut butter consistency. My weapon of choice is a wooden spoon for this job to get it to the right texture, plus it is a great arm work out. Once you have reached that stage, then you will mix in the vanilla extract and egg yolk and you should have something that looks like this:

Stage one

 

Then you will want to mix in your flour to create a dough. Remember this tip for introducing the flour, anytime you want to mix flour into a mixture, always divide the flour into small amounts. It is a tip that makes not only clean up easier but the integration of the flour will go a lot more smoothly. So I like to add my flour 1/3 cup at a time and then we have a nice firm dough. dough

After the dough is made, I recommend cutting the dough in half and putting plastic wrap on one of those halves. My reasoning for this is because I found that this dough got really dry very quickly and the plastic wrap I believed helped. Take one of the halves of dough and put it on a lightly floured surface to roll out on. You want to make a nice sheet that is about 3 or 4 millimeters thick. One of the things about being in the kitchen is the ability to be creative. Not just with what you are cooking but HOW you cook it. I don’t have a big house with a state of the art and top of the line kitchen with every gadget and thing-a-ma-bob known to Bobby Flay. So here is where I show you some Cheap Chef Life Hacks that I use to help make my Jammie Dodgers. photo 5

Cheap Chef’s Life hack #1: So you don’t have a rolling pin? No problem! Wrap some plastic wrap around a can of spray oil and use that!! Let me tell you, it works great! Now once you have your sheet of batter rolled out you want to cut round pieces that are around 1 1/2 inch wide. I don’t have any cookie cutters or biscuit cutters so I used my Cheap Chef’s Life hack #2: which is also a Mommy Baker life hack! Don’t have a cookie cutter? No problem! Use a baby bottle cap! Works like a charm!

photo 1 (4)

You will want to make sure you have an even amount of circles that you are cutting because one will be the bottom and the other will be the top. I had a total of 40 circles that I cut out of the first half of the dough, what you will need to do next it use half of those circles which in my case makes 20, and cut a small circle in the center for the jam opening. Cheap Chef’s Life Hack #3: To make the smaller circles I used a teaspoon measuring spoon. The only problem with using that for me was the fact that it caused for larger than needed holes in the center but in the end, turned out to be a perfect size!

photo 4 (3)

The potato peeler I thought I would use to help fetch out the inner circles but I soon realized it was unnecessary and my fingers worked just fine.

After you get all of your circles cut out of the dough, then it is time to put them on a cookie sheet and into the oven. I always use aluminum foil to line my cookie sheets with unless I know the baked good will be super greasy and gooey in all the wrong ways. Into the oven and depending on your oven’s range it will be a very short cook time of 10-12 minutes. photo 2 (4)photo 1The best advice for how long to cook a new dish in the oven is to always cook for the shortest amount of time first, then work your way up to longer times. Especially with a cookie dough like this one because if you cook it for a couple of minutes too long it will just break your teeth off. After a short 10 minutes, I had a finished cookie!Pull the trays out of the oven, I let them cool on the tray but before these cookies can really chill out, this is when it is best to sprinkle that granulated sugar. There is no difference in using white caster sugar as the recipe originally calls for, it is just simply granulated sugar that has been pulsed in a blender to make finer bits to put on your cookies. I didn’t find that it was an issue for our cookies tonight so I wouldn’t stress over that at all.

photo 2

After a cooling time of 7-10 minutes, it is time to assemble our cookies and introduce the best part: RASPBERRY JAM! I can understand that some people don’t like raspberry jam and the best thing about making things yourself like this is that you can use whatever you want and make it your own! In fact the next time I make these I intend on trying them with both chocolate and peanut butter because my husband is a big fan of peanut butter and stayed far away from trying these with jam. Also, I did not follow the original recipe to get a jam that had no seeds and it definitely did make a difference having them in the cookies. So I would highly recommend getting a seedless jam or straining out the seeds in the jam before putting the jam on your cookies. Cause I don’t know about you but nothing ruins a good cookie worse  for me than getting a bunch of seeds stuck in your teeth.photo 3Make sure to put the jam on the bottom side of the cookie because the ones with the holes will be going on top of the jam!! You only need a small spoonful of jam on the cookie but I did use a lot more that necessary to make sure there was a really nice squish between the cookies. After placing the top of the cookie on you will have a nice presentation of about 40 Jammie Dodgers to enjoy! That is a lot of cookies!

photo 4

These are only a few of the cookies I made, I promise I didn’t eat all of them in one sitting. Even though I was tempted!!

What is really great about these cookies too is that you can enjoy them as a snack that isn’t too rich in sugar but can be satisfying for your sweet tooth or you can also have a nice cup of tea with them as well. I got to enjoy them with my morning tea and it was absolutely delicious having that little bit of sweetness with my tea.

 

morningtea

The finished product with my morning tea!

Well I hope you enjoyed my step-by-step process of making my new favorite sweet treat, Jammie Dodgers! As well as I hope my fellow Whovians enjoyed seeing how I made this Doctor Who featured cookie! Let me know in the comments below if you have made them before or even tried the original and if mine could stand up next to them as a contender!

Thanks for reading and make sure to keep in touch through my Instagram and Twitter accounts for more posts and cute pictures of my daughter! 🙂

NaBloPoMo February 2015

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogging, Stories

Leave a Reply

